New Jersey police will be “cracking down” on distracted drivers in the Garden State throughout the month of April. Distracted driving is a leading cause of car accidents nationwide, and drivers who are not paying attention endanger the lives of passengers, other drivers and pedestrians. Swerving, speeding or driving too slowly may result in a ticket for careless driving, especially if an officer suspects distracted driving. Behaviors that distract drivers and increase the risk of car accidents include:
- Talking on the phone
- Eating and/or drinking
- Using a GPS or navigation system
- Reading a map
- Watching a video
- Talking to passengers
- Adjusting a radio, CD player or MP3 player
Although it is not illegal to eat, talk to your kids or adjust the radio while driving, any behavior that affects a driver’s ability to safely operate an automobile can constitute carelessness and distracted driving.
Texting while driving is particularly risky because it requires the visual, manual and cognitive attention of a driver. It is against the law to use a handheld device or cell phone while driving in New Jersey unless it is mounted and an earpiece is being used. Possible fines range from $200 to $400 for a first offense, $400 to $600 for a second offense, and $600 to $800 after. In addition to fines, a third offense may result in three points being added to a license and a 90-day license suspension.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident caused by a distracted driver, you may be entitled to collect significant compensation for your injury from a liable party. Call DiTomaso Law at 856-343-4116 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with a car accident lawyer in Cherry Hill.